My “Anniversary”

Hey everyone!  Hope you all had a great Valentine’s Day.  I’m in the process of kicking a cold.  Ick.

Today is a somewhat cool day for me.  It marks the 7 month anniversary of when I moved my horse to my new barn.  Yeah, I know.  Thrilling.  It’s not really the event that I wanted to share, it’s the story.

When I was 7, we moved from Florida to South Carolina.  I had lived in FL my whole life, so this move was really emotional for me.  I had to leave all my friends that I had grown up with and move somewhere where I knew nobody.  After I moved, I decided that I wanted to start riding horses.  My mom found a barn that taught lessons about 20 minutes away from my house, so I started riding there.  Over the years, my whole life began to revolve around the barn and horses.  Most of my friends that I’ve made, I met through this barn.  It was basically my second home, and the managers were my second parents.  It was never the nicest barn in the area, but it symbolized my entire childhood, so it was perfect for me.

In 2011, when I was 14, I bought my second horse.  She was a big, skinny, ex-racehorse.  I kept her at my barn for a year.  By the end of that year, I was faced with the biggest decision I have had to make thus far.

Due to unfortunate circumstances, the barn started to be less of what my horse and I needed.  I had to come to the conclusion that I needed to move my horse to a different barn.  I spent night after night crying myself to sleep over it.  I felt like I was leaving all of my friends and everything I had grown up around.  Not to mention some of my “friends” who had hard feelings over my decision, which made things worse.  I had never had to make this kind of choice in my life, and it tore me up.

Ironically, my next door neighbor owns a small barn where she keeps her horses.  She was willing to let me bring my horse there temporarily until I could find a permanent place.  I was there for two months.  Also, there was another, bigger barn on the same road as my neighbor’s.  I was able to get a spot there, and moved my horse.  That was exactly 7 months ago.

From the outside, this might not seem like a very compelling story.  But, the way that God worked in this situation is what makes me stand in awe.

A year or so after I moved to SC, my next door neighbor moved out, and a horse lover moved in.  It was cool for me at the time, but I had no idea the part she would play in my life later on.

A few years later, that horse-loving neighbor, rented land with a barn on it, and started her own stable.  This stable just happened to be down the street from the farm at which I would later board my horse.  I had no idea.  She took me out a few times with her.  I didn’t think much of it.

Then, I decided that I needed to move to another barn.  It was an insanely emotional decision, but it was imperative.  I didn’t know what I would do.

Then, I was able to go to my friend’s barn.  She recommended the barn down the street to me as a permanent place, and was able to put in a good word for me.

In addition, after I moved, I made more friends than I’ve ever had in my life.  AND, one of my best friends from my old barn later moved to the new barn with me.

When I was in the middle of all this, I didn’t know why it was happening.  I was upset and confused.  I didn’t see how it could get any worse, or any better.  But, even before I had a horse, even before I had any idea that I would have to move her, God was working things out.  He knew that I would need a place to go.  He provided that place way before I even knew I would leave.  Now, looking back, I’m amazed by His foresight and planning.

I know that Romans 8:28 gets tossed around a lot.  It says that “all things work together for good to those who love God,” and them who are called according to His purpose.  Sometimes, in the midst of a situation, that statement isn’t very easy to hear.  We can only see what is happening in the moment, and it may not seem like anything can get worked out for the good.  What we don’t realize, is that God doesn’t see things as they are right now; He sees things as they have been, are, and will be.  He sees the big picture.

Just like if you were to stop reading a great book just because there was a plot twist that caused pain, we can’t give up on something just because there seems to be nothing good that can come out of it.  For as depressed as I was at having to leave the barn I had been at for 8 years, I can’t even comprehend how perfect my new barn is.  God had a wonderful plan, and He worked things together for good.

I know that there are a lot of situations out there that are more serious than mine, but no matter what, the principle remains the same.  God DOES work things together for the good of them who love Him, and them who are called by Him.

So today, I am celebrating the anniversary, of sorts, of the day that God proved to me that He really does have my best interest at heart.  He DOES see everything that happens, and He DOES work things together…even if we don’t see it.

Happy March, everyone!

~Theophilus

About theophilus929

I am a teenage girl with opinions, and I like to voice them. I believe in a Biblical God, and that gives me very different views than most people out there. When something catches my attention, I blog about it! Hope you enjoy, and share with your friends!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

