The Best of Ronald Reagan

Image

Just a quick post, or long post as the case may be, today, guys.  Today, if you don’t have it marked on your calendar like real conservatives do (or are oblivious, like me, and forgot to write it down), is President Ronald Reagan’s 102nd birthday.  The man who led America through the end of the Cold War, the man won by a 49 state landslide in 1984, the man who inspired a nation, passed away almost 9 years ago.  However, his legacy lives on.

One of my favorite things about Reagan, is he said so many things that I could never see a president saying (especially not a certain person currently in office).  It’s like seeing one of our Founding Fathers as president in the 80’s.  He was completely unafraid of what people would think.  He knew the truth, and he wasn’t scared to say it.  For this post, I want to list some of my favorite Reagan quotes, in honor of his birthday.

“A hippie is someone who looks like Tarzan, walks like Jane and smells like Cheetah.”

“The American dream is not that every man must be level with every other man. The American dream is that every man must be free to become whatever God intends he should become.”  (AMEN)

“When you can’t make them see the light, make them feel the heat.”  (My plan for the next four years)

“Welfare’s purpose should be to eliminate, as far as possible, the need for its own existence.”

“A taxpayer is someone who works for the federal government but doesn’t have to take a civil-service exam.”

“I am paying for this microphone…!” (When a debate moderator threatened to cut off his mike at a debate he paid for.)

” I want you to know also I will not make age an issue of this campaign. I am not going to exploit for political purposes my opponent’s youth and inexperience.” (To Walter Mondale at a debate)

“I have left orders to be awakened at any time in case of national emergency, even if I’m in a cabinet meeting.”

“Before I refuse to take your questions, I have an opening statement.”

“Thomas Jefferson once said, ‘We should never judge a president by his age, only by his works.’ And ever since he told me that, I stopped worrying.”

“I hope we have once again reminded people that man is not free unless government is limited. There’s a clear cause and effect here that is as neat and predictable as a law of physics: as government expands, liberty contracts.”

“We must reject the idea that every time a law’s broken, society is guilty rather than the lawbreaker. It is time to restore the American precept that each individual is accountable for his actions.”  (Gun control, anyone?)

“Government’s first duty is to protect the people, not run their lives.”

“Government is like a baby. An alimentary canal with a big appetite at one end and no sense of responsibility at the other.”  (What president would have the guts to say that?!)

“It isn’t so much that liberals are ignorant. It’s just that they know so many things that aren’t so.”  (…and again!)

“A recession is when your neighbor loses his job. A depression is when you lose yours. And recovery is when Jimmy Carter loses his.”  (OH!)

“I hope you’re all Republicans.” (to surgeons as he entered the operating room following his assassination attempt)

“My fellow Americans, I am pleased to tell you I just signed legislation which outlaws Russia forever. The bombing begins in five minutes.” (Said during a radio microphone test, 1984)

“Some people wonder all their lives if they’ve made a difference. The Marines don’t have that problem.”  (TRUTH)

“Today we did what we had to do. They counted on America to be passive. They counted wrong.”  (A REAL commander in chief)

“Government’s view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.”

“The nine most terrifying words in the English language are, ‘I’m from the government and I’m here to help.'”

“We don’t have a trillion-dollar debt because we haven’t taxed enough; we have a trillion-dollar debt because we spend too much.”  (Someone who GETS IT)

“Without God, there is no virtue, because there’s no prompting of the conscience. Without God, we’re mired in the material, that flat world that tells us only what the senses perceive. Without God, there is a coarsening of the society. And without God, democracy will not and cannot long endure. If we ever forget that we’re one nation under God, then we will be a nation gone under.”

“Republicans believe that every day is the Fourth of July, but democrats believe every day is April 15.”

And finally,  “Freedom is never more than one generation away from extinction. We didn’t pass it to our children in the bloodstream. It must be fought for, protected, and handed on for them to do the same, or one day we will spend our sunset years telling our children and our children’s children what it was once like in the United States where men were free.”

With that last quote in mind, let’s not give up on our country.  I know we, I most of all, get depressed and pessimistic with the direction our country is going.  But, God is in control.  He sees what’s happening…and He sees what is going to happen.  All we can do is trust Him and never back down.  If we did, all that Reagan did will be for nothing.  I’m not going to stand by and watch that happen.

Happy birthday Mr. President.  When it’s all said and done, at least I will meet you one day.

Have a great day everyone!

~Theophilus

About theophilus929

I am a teenage girl with opinions, and I like to voice them. I believe in a Biblical God, and that gives me very different views than most people out there. When something catches my attention, I blog about it! Hope you enjoy, and share with your friends!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Best of Ronald Reagan

  1. OK, I love this post…I’m going to have to reblog it 😀

  2. Reblogged this on From the Pages of History and commented:
    Thank God for Ronald Reagan!

Leave a Reply

